Review – The Jade Lioness By: Christina Courtenay

Can an impossible love become possible?



Nagasaki, 1648

Temperance Marston longs to escape war-torn England and explore the exotic empire of Japan. When offered the chance to accompany her cousin and Captain Noordholt on a trading expedition to Nagasaki, she jumps at the opportunity. However, she soon finds the country’s strict laws for foreigners curtail her freedom.

On a dangerous and foolhardy venture she meets Kazuo, a ronin. Kazuo is fascinated by her blonde hair and blue eyes, but he has a mission to complete and he cannot be distracted. Long ago, his father was accused of a crime he didn’t commit – stealing a valuable jade lioness ornament from the Shogun – and Kazuo must restore his family’s honour.

But when Temperance is kidnapped and sold as a concubine, he has to make a decision – can he save her and keep the promise he made to his father?

The fist thing I have to say about this book, is how much I enjoyed the way the author describes this world. She kept impressing me with her knowledge of the Japanese culture, and era, it was amazing. It took me some time to get into the story, but once I did, I could not stop reading. I was expecting the complete opposite for Temperance and Kazuo at the end of this book, but I’m glad that it ended just like that, maybe it’s what makes me love it so much. I give it 4 out of 5 stars.  It come out May 15, 2015 get it, it’s totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

